What Exactly Are Utah Landlord Laws?
Utah landlord laws are a set of legal clauses that state your rights and duties as a landlord. Usually, these rules may be changed to line up with the landlord's needs, but it is important to recognize that according to fair-housing laws in Utah, the tenant must also have their benefits noted in the lease agreement. Understanding the Utah landlord laws can help prevent any tenant dispute from going to court.
Understanding Utah Lease Agreements
A Utah lease agreement is a legal document that states the landlord's condition for leasing their property to the tenant. These sets of rules may be adjusted to fit the landlords' needs, but they need to comply with the Utah landlord laws. Otherwise, the tenants may seek legal advice in a court of law if any issues arise that may violate their integrity as a resident.
Lease agreements are a legal requirement in Utah for leases longer than 12 months. Knowing that, it is still highly recommended for Utah landlords to provide a written lease regardless of the time period that they are planning to lease their rental property. A lease agreement is the only physical proof that both parties have showing everything was agreed upon.
Leases in Utah must disclose the following information to comply with the state law:
- Legal name and address of the rental property owner.
- Conditions needed for repairs.
- Legal address and description of the property.
- Rent payment conditions
- Access to property conditions
- Amount of security deposit and the return policy.
Landlords' Rights and Responsibilities in Utah
Utah landlords have the legal right to collect rent payments on the agreed time, send notices for the lease termination if the tenant does not comply with the agreed upon lease, and withdraw the security deposit to cover costs from damages that go beyond reasonable wear and tear. On top of that, Utah state laws allow landlords to execute eviction claims in the case that the tenant refuses to exit the rental property.
Utah landlords must provide a safe and secure rental property that complies with Utah housing regulations. Utah landlords must also perform the required repairs for any damages that the tenant reports with advanced notice. A notice should be sent to the tenant if the damages exceed regular wear and tear, and the landlord must respond within an allotted amount of time (usually a 3-day notice). If the landlord fails to respond within this required time frame, and the unit is recognized as uninhabitable, then the tenant may seek legal advice in a court of law or deduct the cost of damages from the following month of rent.
It is vital to note that while the tenant can deduct the repairs from the following month of rent, the repairs may not cost more than two months of rent.
Knowing the Utah landlord laws and knowing your rights as a Utah landlord is the first crucial step in becoming a successful investor. Although these may be the current rules for 2021, some changes could be made coming 2022. These law changes are one of the many reasons to reach out to Wolfnest for any of your property management questions or needs.